Offline in Berlin

Offline in Berlin

Fast jeder von uns kennt diesen Moment. Man versucht eine Seite neu zu laden, will seine Emails checken, sich durch ein Paar komische GIF’s scrollen und den Tag beginnen. Aber nichts funktioniert und nachdem man es ein paar Mal versucht hat, realisiert man: das WLan ist kaputt. Der Alptraum eines jeden Digital Native, oder nicht?

Unsere Redakteurin war zwangsweise für eine Weile Internet-frei und hat sich darauf besinnt, wie schön das Leben “away from Keyboard” sein kann. Lest mehr darüber auf unserer englischen Seite. Weiterlesen…

Pornfilmfestival Berlin – Happy End garantiert

Pornfilmfestival Berlin – Happy End garantiert

ALFA / Ich – Ein Groupie

Einmal im Jahr, genauer gesagt im Herbst, wird Berlin zur Gastgeberin für ein Film Festival der besonderen Art. Also aufgepasst, ihr sexy Menschen, Sex Liebhaber*innen und kinky Köpfe. Während die Erotikmesse Venus sich auf die Art von Porn fokussiert, die hauptsächlich normative Stereotypen bedient, die ziemlich sexistisch sind, bietet das Porn Film Festival eine alternative zu normativen Stereotypen. In Deutschlands ältestem Kino, dem Moviemento in Kreuzberg, werden Dokumentationen über das Leben und die Arbeit in der Sexindustrie gezeigt. Filme mit einer humorvollen Herangehensweise, konzeptueller Ästhetik und außergewöhnlichen Geschichten. Pornografie kann so viel mehr sein als Mainstream. Die, die im Rahmen dieses Festivals gezeigt werden drehen sich alle um eine authentische Darstellung von Lust, sexy nicht-normative Körper, queeren Sex und erotische Begegnungen zwischen emanzipierten Individuen mit empowernden Perspektiven.

Weiterlesen…

Porno, Lust und Sexismus – Venus 2016

Porno, Lust und Sexismus – Venus 2016

photo: Valerie-Siba Rousparast

Vergangene Woche fand die jährliche Venus Erotikmesse in Berlin statt und brachte wieder die Gemüter in Wallung. Unsere Autorin Valerie hat sich in das sexuelle Schlaraffenland aufgemacht um ein paar Eindrücke zu sammeln. In ihrem Report erzählt sie einerseits über ihre Faszination, aber auch über die kritischen Momente auf der Messe und kontrastiert ihre Aufnahmen mit denen des Fotografen Andrea D’Auria. Mehr dazu im englischen Teil des Artikels.

Weiterlesen…

4 Blocks: Die neue Serie über Neuköllns Untergrund

4 Blocks: Die neue Serie über Neuköllns Untergrund

Fotos: TNT Serie

„4 Blocks“ erzählt die Geschichte der echten Menschen, die in Berlin ihren täglichen Kampf leben. In dieser neuen Serie spielt Frederick Lau an der Seite von Protagonist Toni (Kida Khodr Ramadan). Die Serie zeigt seine Schwierigkeiten im täglichen Stress zwischen arabischen Gangs und Familie. Er will dem Untergrund Frau und Kindern zuliebe entkommen, aber Neukölln lässt ihn nicht so einfach gehen. In Frederick Lau haben wir uns schon verliebt, als wir ihn das erste Mal in „Victoria“ Chaos verbreiten sahen. Er wurde unser neues Gesicht für Berlin und verkörperte die raue Schönheit der Stadt selbst. Kida Khodr Ramadan tut sein weiteres dazu, ein echteres Bild von Berlin zu zeichnen, das viel facettenreicher ist.

Weiterlesen…

Fucking Berlin – Vom Leben eines Camgirls

Fucking Berlin – Vom Leben eines Camgirls

„Für mich ist Berlin keine Stadt, sondern ein Rhythmus.“ Das sagt Sonja, die Protagonistin des neuen Berlin-Films „Fucking Berlin“. Sie ist, wie viele, nach Berlin gekommen, um die Langeweile der Heimat zu überwinden und ein schnelleres, intensiveres Leben zu führen. Wie leicht es ist, sich dabei zu verlieren, konnte sie nicht vorhersehen. Als das Geld für Parties und Drogen knapp wird, findet sie sich plötzlich als Camgirl nackt vor dem Laptop wieder. Doch das Doppelleben als brave Studentin und emanzipierten Sexarbeiterin wächst ihr bald über den Kopf.

Wie schnell, Berlin einen in seinen Bann zieht, wissen wohl die meisten Zugezogenen. Wie schnell es an Geld und Jobmöglichkeiten mangelt auch. Dass dadurch manchmal Entscheidungen gefällt werden, die einen verändern und noch kurz vorher undenkbar gewesen wären kann Teil davon werden. Ohne Zeigefinger zeigt „Fucking Berlin“, wie schnell man in dieser Stadt die volle Breitseite des Lebens erleben kann.

Weiterlesen…

Großartige Community Projekte für Geflüchtete und Berliner

Großartige Community Projekte für Geflüchtete und Berliner

Foto: Cucula

Im Zuge der Flüchtlingskrise ist Berlin für viele Menschen der neue Wohnort geworden. Dass es in Berlin glücklicherweise viele engagierte Köpfe gibt, die sich als freiwillige Helfer dafür einsetzen, dass die Geflüchteten hier willkommen geheißen werden, ankommen und integriert werden, ist bekannt. Ein paar ganz besondere Projekte zur Integration möchten wir euch hier vorstellen, denn sie stellen ein wenig unser Vertrauen in die Menschheit wieder her. Sie alle haben gemein, dass sie die Integration für Geflüchtete erleichtern wollen und gleichzeitig den Kontakt zwischen ihnen und denjenigen, die schon länger in Berlin leben, herstellen. So können alle im besten Fall voneinander lernen und sich gegenseitig bereichern. Mehr dazu auf unserer englischen Seite.

Weiterlesen…

Süßes aus Frankreich und Japan: Café Two and Two

Süßes aus Frankreich und Japan: Café Two and Two

Das Two and Two ist Café und Papeterie in einem. Es ist eines der Lokale, von denen ich auf den ersten Blick wusste, dass ich sie lieben würde. Es liegt mittendrin, im Norden von Neukölln, umringt von Burger-Läden, internationalen Restaurants, Café’s und gutem Fast Food und trotzdem sticht der Laden mit seinem zurückhaltenden Look heraus.

Weiterlesen…

Yoga in der Berliner U-Bahn

Yoga in der Berliner U-Bahn

Foto:Ilsa Hellman

Es gibt Momente, in denen Berlin einfach zu schnell, hektisch und anstrengend wird. In denen sich alles in einem verkrampft und sich Anspannung anstaut. In denen man nach etwas sucht, um diese Spannung abzubauen und sich von all dem Stress zu befreien. Die finnische Filmemacherin Ilsa Hellman hat gemeinsam mit Yoga Lehrerin Katri Aalto einen Kurzfilm produziert, der an die Tatsache erinnert, dass man keinen spezifischen Ort oder Zeitpunkt benötigt, um sich zu entspannen und loszulassen. Eigentlich ist es vielleicht noch viel gesünder, wenn man lernt, Ruhe und Gelassenheit in den Alltag zu integrieren und sich Zeit dafür zu nehmen, wann immer und – vor allem – wo auch immer man das braucht. Ganz gleich, wer einen dabei sehen könnte.

Das Duo hat einen Film im Berliner Untergrund gedreht. Die Interaktion zwischen den fließenden Yogabewegungen und der geometrischen Architektur, begleitet von einem minimalistischen Soundtrack, erinnert daran, wie wichtig es ist, Balance zu halten, denn das ist es, worum es im Leben so oft geht. Ob Work-Life-Balance oder der Spagat zwischen Sozialstress und Zeit für sich alleine – das Problem kennen wohl die allermeisten unter uns.

Weiterlesen…

Großartige Abenteuer in Berlin

Großartige Abenteuer in Berlin

photoSusanne NilssonCC

Mit unserer Serie über die besonderen Erlebnisse, die man über Priceless® Berlin buchen kann, haben wir euch bereits eine Übersicht der spannendsten Restaurants und kulinarischen Geheimnisse gegeben und euch mit auf einen Recycle-Design-Workshop genommen. Für unseren neuen Guide möchten wir euch nun die abenteuerliche Seite Berlins vorstellen. Springt bis unter die Decke in einem Trampolin-Park, fliegt über den Dächern Berlins in einem riesigen Heliumballon, verbringt eine Nacht im Museum, fahrt mit einem Hot Rod durch die Stadt, all das und so viel mehr Abenteuer im Folgenden:

Weiterlesen…

Author Archive

Offline in Berlin

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

photos: Valerie-Siba Rousparast

You might have been there. Trying to refresh a page, wanting to check your mail and scroll through some weird GIF’s to wake up and start the day. But nothing works and by every time you click to reload you slowly realize: your Wifi doesn’t work. This is every digital native’s nightmare. Or is it?

I recently stumbled into the recurring situation of being out of internet in my apartment. In the beginning I could use my smartphone as a hotspot for my laptop and at least got some work done (and caught up with some Netflix addictions, um). But when I also ran out of 3G and my phone displayed a sad, sad “E”, I had to improvise. And it wasn’t the worst thing happening to me.

Valerie by Valerie
on October 26th, 2016
in Stories

Pornfilmfestival Berlin – Happy Ending Guaranteed

PFFB Header

ALFA / Ich – Ein Groupie

‘Tis the season! Once a year, Berlin becomes the host for a film festival of a different kind. So all of you sexy people, sex lovers and kinky minds beware. While the Venus Sex Fair focuses on the kind of Porn that is rather sexist, the Porn Film Festival offers an alternative to normative stereotypes. In Germany’s oldest cinema, the Moviemento, they show serious documentaries about the work and life in the sex industry. They show movies with a more humorous approach to sex, with conceptual aesthetics and extraordinary stories. Pornographic films can be more than mainstream. The ones shown during this festival are all about authentic lust, sexy non-normative bodies, queer sex and erotic encounters between emancipated individuals with empowering narratives.

There are stories about fetishes, about homosexual pleasure and intimacy as well as short movies about the lives of refugees. Sexual assault and trauma are another aspect of sexuality that the festival also addresses. Wherever there is sex there is also issues of power and dominance. Where there is intimacy there can be pain and it is especially significant how this film festival gives a holistic view on sexuality with all its extremes. The dark ones as well as the euphoric ones. Besides showing movies the festival also offers a great range of events all focusing on sex, porn and politics. There are workshops, panels, readings and performances. Get a first glimpse here.

Valerie by Valerie
on October 25th, 2016
in Videos

Porn, Lust and Sexism – Venus 2016

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

photo: Valerie-Siba Rousparast

Since 1997, each year people from the adult entertainment industry come together for the Venus erotic fair. Porn actors and actresses are there for meet and greets, exotic dancers and and sex workers from all kinds of genres are presenting their special acts of pleasing their audience.

Valerie by Valerie
on October 19th, 2016
in Events

Wild Wild Berlin – Photographs From Past Times

ZM_Wild Berlin_Mayer_05_web72

photo: Sebastian Mayer

Three photographers, three decades, three visions – that is the subtitle to a photo series about Berlin that brings back memories of its wildest times, subculture and underground scenes. Berlin is a city that is dynamic, fast and constantly changing. These photos are testaments to a rebellious and fascinating past.

Valerie by Valerie
on October 19th, 2016
in Art, Photos

4 Blocks: A new TV Series about the Gangs of Neukölln

4 Blocks TNT Serie

photos: TNT

“4 Blocks” is a story about the hardships and crime in Neukölln. The series follows protagonist Toni played by Kida Khodr Ramadan and his struggle with daily business in the context of Arabic clans. He wants to leave his “4 Blocks” behind for the sake of his family, but Neukölln doesn’t let him go easily.

With Frederick Lau, who plays a friend of Toni in the series, we fell in love with when we first saw him stirring up chaos in the hit Berlin movie “Victoria”. He became our new face of Berlin and embodied the “real people”. His role was as rough around the edges just like Neukölln is with its beautiful ugliness. Kida Khodr Ramadan does his own part in representing a realer image of Berlin, which is much more diverse.

Valerie by Valerie
on October 11th, 2016
in TV

Fucking Berlin – Diary of a Camgirl

Fucking Berlin

“For me, Berlin isn’t a city, but a rhythm.” That is Sonja’s opinion on our beloved town. She is the protagonist of the new Berlin movie Fucking Berlin. Like so many others, she came here to forget the boredom from her hometown and experience something faster, more intense. She couldn’t foresee, how easy it is to loose yourself in this fast life. Suddenly the money for parties and drugs has run out and she finds herself naked in front of her laptop, working as a camgirl. Being a student and an emancipated sexworker becomes too much for her, soon.

How fast Berlin catches you is something that we all know. How quickly you run out of money and job options is also no secret, which is why often decisions are being made that would’ve sounded crazy just a short while ago. Without being moralizing, the movie shows just how easy you can experience every part of Berlin’s intensity.

Valerie by Valerie
on October 5th, 2016
in Movies

Awesome Community Projects for Refugees and Berliners

cucula

photo: Cucula

The living situation in many countries is bad, dangerous and daily life becomes a struggle for survival. For many, fleeing to Germany and coming to Berlin is the only way, to get a chance of a new life in safety and peace. But arriving here isn’t always easy. The journey is often a very traumatic experience for most refugees, who not only leave behind their homes, but often family members, friends and everything that they are used to without knowing what to expect. Also fleeing a country is often extremely dangerous which is why projects like Jugend Rettet e.V. have been created. This project is sending volunteers to regions where many refugees are crossing the sea. Patrolling on boats and rescuing people from open waters is the kind of intense help that is needed.

Help for refugees has many different faces in diverse Berlin. In the past year we came across projects that amazed us with their positive attitude, their empowering ideas and practical ways of integrating and assisting refugees. We want to share our excitement about some of those projects with you, which is why we have collected a small number of them here.

Valerie by Valerie
on September 27th, 2016
in People, Stories

Cute French & Japanese Delights: Café Two and Two

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

photos: Valerie-Siba Rousparast

Café and Papeterie Two and Two is one of those places that i knew i would love from the first sight. Set in the place-to-be north of Neukölln, it is surrounded by amazing burger places, international cuisine and great fast food. Nonetheless it stands out.

Valerie by Valerie
on September 20th, 2016
in Cafés, Neukölln

Namaste in the Subway: Yoga in Berlin’s U-Bahn

yogabahn-byilsahellman-still-2

photo: Ilsa Hellman

There are moments, when Berlin gets too fast, too hectic, too tense and you need to get rid of all that built-up stress in your mind and body. Finnish videographer Ilsa Hellman and Yoga teacher Katri Aalto produced a short movie that reminds you of the fact that you don’t need a specific time or place to relax and let go. Actually it’s even healthier, when you learn to integrate calmness into your daily life, create space and make time for quiet moments. No matter, who is watching.

The duo shot a film that shows Yoga in Berlin’s underground. The interaction between the Yoga teacher’s flowing movement and the geometrical architecture of the U-Bahn stations to a minimalized soundtrack, reminds you of keeping your balance, because that is what life’s basically all about. If it is about work-life balance or keeping it equal between social stress and alone-time. We suppose most of us know the struggles of keeping a balance in life.

Valerie by Valerie
on September 18th, 2016
in Videos

10 Awesome Adventures in Berlin

Weltballon

photoSusanne NilssonCC

With our ongoing series about the many special experiences you can find on Priceless® Berlin we have already given you an overview of restaurants and culinary delights, as well as taken you with us on a recycle design work shop. For our brand new guide we want to show you a more adventurous side of Berlin. Jump around in a trampoline park, fly high with a huge helium balloon, spend the night at a museum, cruise through the city with a Hot Rod car and so much more…

Valerie by Valerie
on September 15th, 2016
in Friedrichshain, Mitte