Die Auseinandersetzung mit überholten gesellschaftlichen Normen ist an sich schon eine Lieblingsbeschäftigung vieler Berliner, aber es wird noch besser, wenn die Kritik von Elementen der neuen Gegenkultur begleitet wird. Darum geht es beim Riot Pant Project – lest weiter, um mehr über den subversiven Trend zu erfahren, der den öffentlichen Raum aus dem Griff der toxischen Männlichkeit zurückerobert.

Das Riot Pant Project zielt auf die Bekämpfung des Manspreading ab, einer der lästigen Manifestationen von Toxic Masculinity. Dabei handelt es sich um die unangenehme Art mancher Männer, sich so breitbeinig hinzusetzen, dass sie den Leuten links und rechts von ihnen den Platz strittig machen. Das Projekt, das von den Studentinnen der Universität der Künste Elena Buscaino und Mina Bonakdar ins Leben gerufen wurde, zeigt einen genialen Aufdruck im Schritt der Hosen. Mit Aussagen wie ”TOXIC MASCULINITY”, ”GIVE US SPACE” und ”STOP SPREADING” macht das Riot Pant Project eine stille, aber mutige feministische Aussage.

Die Bilder für die jüngste Kampagne des Riot Pant Projects wurden von dem Berliner Fotografen Hanko Ye aufgenommen, dessen großartige Straßenfotografie wir zuvor auf dem Blog vorgestellt haben. Seine Fähigkeit, die Realität Berlins einzufangen, kommt auf diesen U-Bahn-Schnappschüssen mit den Riot Pants wunderbar zum Ausdruck.

Ihr könnt euch mit dem Riot Pant Project in Verbindung setzen, um den Aufdruck auf eure eigene Hose zu erhalten.

 

  

Read this article in English.

Michalina
by
on März 6th, 2020
in Mode

photos: Hanko Ye

Contesting outdated social norms is in itself a favorite pastime of many Berliners, but it gets even better when the critique is accompanied by elements of the new counterculture. That’s what the Riot Pant Project is all about – read on to find out more about the subversive trend that reclaims public space from the grip of social masculinity.

Riot Pant Project is targeted at fighting manspreading, one annoying manifestation of toxic masculinity. If you don’t know what manspreading is: I’m sure you’ve felt robbed of your personal space before by a guy sitting next to you with such widespread legs that you’re almost pressed against the person on your other side. This was hardly an attempt by him for his balls not to be squeezed too hard, but a Napoleonic act of conquering other people’s territory to prove his unchallenged masculinity.

The project, created by the Universität der Künste students Elena Buscaino und Mina Bonakdar, offers an ingenious print addition appearing on the crotch of pants. With statements like ”TOXIC MASCULINITY”, ”GIVE US SPACE”, and ”STOP SPREADING”, the Riot Pant Project proposes a silent, yet bold feminist statement.

The pictures for the recent campaign of the Riot Pant Project were taken by Berlin photographer Hanko Ye whose amazing street photography we’ve previously featured on the blog. His ability to capture Berlin’s realness shines through on these candid U-Bahn photos featuring the Riot Pants.

You can get in touch with the Riot Pant Project via Instagram to get their print on your own pair of trousers.

 

  

  

Diesen Artikel auf deutsch lesen.

Michalina
by
on March 6th, 2020
in Fashion